EWS stands for Economically Weaker Sections, which refers to a segment of society that earns below a certain income threshold. The determination of economic insecurity is based on a person’s income, as well as other financial considerations such as household and ancestral property. To be recognized as belonging to this category, one must obtain an EWS certificate, which can provide access to reservations and various financial assistance. This certificate aligns with the constitution’s public policy for promoting economic, political, and social justice.

Recently, the Indian central government has introduced a 10% reservation quota for individuals in the general category who hold an EWS certificate. This move aims to provide better opportunities for them. Some of the main objectives of this policy are to:

  • Reduce economic weakness
  • Boost the literacy rate of the nation
  • Create more employment opportunities
  • Support economically disadvantaged individuals.

What is EWS Certificate

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Section, and an EWS certificate is an income and asset certificate issued to individuals in this vulnerable group. This certificate serves as proof that a person belongs to this particular income category, and it provides access to various government facilities, particularly in the education sector.

It is important to note that an EWS certificate is distinct from a caste certificate, which is based on an individual’s caste. Both certificates work differently, with the caste certificate providing reservation based on caste and EWS certificate offering reservation based on income.

The local authority issues the EWS certificate based on several criteria, including family income and assets. This certificate is a government initiative aimed at helping economically weaker sections access better opportunities in various fields, including education and employment. It is applicable for both school and higher education.

Document required to get EWS certificate

As we all know, government procedures often require a lot of paperwork, and obtaining an EWS certificate is no exception. To apply for the certificate, you will need the following essential documents:

  1. Identification proof
  2. Income certificate
  3. Property or land documents
  4. Proof of residence
  5. Aadhaar card
  6. Self-declaration form
  7. A passport-sized photograph
  8. Any other relevant documents

Similar Posts